Events in Sport on December 10

  • 1810 English bare-knuckle boxer Tom Cribb beats African-American Tom Molineaux in 33rd of 40 round bout at Copthall Common, England; first interracial boxing match
  • 1831 "Spirit of the Times" begins publishing in New York City, the premier sports journal of the 19th century
  • 1918 John Heyder becomes president of baseball's National League for the 2nd time
  • 1919 NL votes to ban the spitball's use by all new pitchers

Sports History

1919 NY, Boston, & Chicago, oppose AL resolution accusing Ban Johnson of overstepping his duties

  • 1922 1st National Football League Championship: undefeated Canton Bulldogs (10-0-2) named inaugural champions
  • 1922 Pete Henry makes longest known NFL drop-kicked field goal, 45 yards
  • 1924 Agreement reached on permanent rotation of World Series with each league, getting games 1, 2, 6, 7 in alternating years
  • 1934 NFL adopts player waiver rule; applies after 6th game of season

Contract of Interest

1935 Philadelphia Athletics sell infielder Jimmie Foxx's contract to Boston Red Sox for $150,000 (about $2.8M in 2020 dollars)

  • 1935 White Sox sell Al Simmons to the Tigers for $75,000
  • 1938 CFL Grey Cup: In repeat of last year, Toronto Argonauts defeat Winnipeg Blue Bombers, 30-7 to retain Championship

NFL Championship

1939 National Football League Championship, Dairy Bowl, West Allis, Wisconsin: Green Bay Packers beat New York Giants, 27-0; Packers 5th title

Sports History

1940 1941 NFL Draft: Tom Harmon from University of Michigan first pick by Chicago Bears

  • 1945 Aust Services lose 3rd Victory Test Cricket to India by 6 wkts
  • 1954 Philadelphia Phillies purchase Connie Mack Stadium

Sports History

1961 Houston Oilers utility back Billy Cannon gains AFL record 373 yards combined rushing/receiving in 48-21 win over NY Titans at the Polo Grounds, NYC

  • 1965 Test Cricket debut of Doug Walters v England at the Gabba

Boxing Title Fight

1968 Joe Frazier beats Oscar Bonavena in 15 for heavyweight boxing title

  • 1970 North American Soccer League awards NY & Toronto franchises

Sports History

1973 First time since 1885, tennis has 2 top male players - Americans Stan Smith and Jimmy Connors

  • 1978 67th Davis Cup: USA beats Great Britain in Rancho Mirage (4-1)
  • 1978 Islanders ends 15 game undefeated streak (12-0-3) to Canadians

Boxing Title Fight

1982 Heavyweight Michael Doakes KOs Mike Weaver in 1:03 in Las Vegas

Australian Open Women's Tennis

1983 Australian Open Women's Tennis: Martina Navratilova wins 8th career Grand Slam singles event; beats Kathy Jordan of the US 6-2, 7-6

  • 1983 Last NFL game at Shea Stadium; Steelers beat NY Jets 34-7
  • 1986 Atlanta Hawk Dominique Wilkins scores 57 points vs Chicago Bulls

Sports History

1986 Ivan Lendl repeats previous year's result with a 6–4, 6–4, 6–4 win over Boris Becker to claim back-to-back season-ending ATP Masters Grand Prix tennis titles at Madison Square Garden, NYC

  • 1988 Washington Capitals 1st NHL scoreless tie, vs Montreal Canadiens

Sports History

1991 Howard Spira sentenced to 2½ years in prison for trying to extort money from Yankees owner George Steinbrenner

  • 1992 NHL awards franchises to Miami & Anaheim for 1994-95
  • 1992 NY Yankees sign free agent pitcher Jimmy Key
  • 1994 60th Heisman Trophy Award: Rashaan Salaam, Colorado (RB)
  • 1995 1st meeting of NBA expansion teams, Raptors beat Grizzlies 93-81
  • 1995 Australian cricket opening batsman Michael Slater scores career high 219 (15 x 4, 5 x 6) in innings and 36 run, 1st Test win v Sri Lanka in Perth
  • 1995 Ricky Ponting makes 96 on Test Cricket debut (Aust v Sri Lanka, WACA)
  • 2000 89th Davis Cup: Spain beats Australia in Barcelona (3-1)
  • 2001 67th Heisman Trophy Award: Eric Crouch, Nebraska (QB)
  • 2005 71st Heisman Trophy Award: Reggie Bush, USC (RB); Bush later forfeits trophy

Sports History

2006 British Broadcasting Corporation gives Swedish tennis icon Björn Borg a Lifetime Achievement Award; presented by Boris Becker

  • 2012 78th Heisman Trophy Award: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (QB); first freshman to win the award
  • 2016 82nd Heisman Trophy Award: Lamar Jackson, Louisville Cardinals (QB), youngest player to win at 19