On This Day

Events in Sport on November 14

  • 1888 St Andrews Golf Club, Yonkers NY, opens with just 6 holes

Sports History

1936 More than 21,000 watch Don Bradman score 192 for South Australia v Victoria in a drawn Sheffield Shield match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground

  • 1943 Chic Bear Sid Luckman passes for 7 touchdowns vs NY Giants (56-7)

Sports History

1957 Milwaukee Brave Hank Aaron wins NL MVP

NHL Record

1964 Detroit Red Wings Gordie Howe sets NHL record 627th career goal

Boxing Title Fight

1966 Muhammad Ali TKOs Cleveland Williams in 3 for heavyweight title

  • 1973 Canada begins production of Olympic coins

Sports History

1973 Jim Palmer is named AL Cy Young winner

  • 1976 Cleveland Browns' Jerry Sherk sets club record with 4 sacks
  • 1979 California's Don Baylor, wins AL MVP

Sports History

1981 In the first world championship fight between 2 Puerto Ricans in boxing history, WBC Super Welterweight champion Wilfred Benitez beats Carlos Santos in a 15-round unanimous decision at Caesar's Palace in Las Vegas

  • 1985 Brewers release 39-year-old pitcher Rollie Fingers
  • 1986 Doubleday Publishing sells NY Mets to Nelson Doubleday and Fred Wilpon
  • 1989 Padres reliever Mark Davis wins NL Cy Young Award

Sports History

1990 James Worthy is arrested in Houston and charged with two counts of solicitation of prostitution

  • 1991 Pittsburgh Steelers guard Terry Long loses his steroids appeal and is suspended without pay by NFL for 4 weeks
  • 1993 23rd NYC Women's Marathon won by Uta Pippig in 2:26:24
  • 1993 24th NYC Marathon won by Andres Espinosa in 2:10:04

Sports History

1993 Don Shula becomes the coach with the most wins in NFL history

Sports History

1993 43rd NASCAR Sprint Cup: Dale Earnhardt wins

  • 1996 Texas Ranger Juan Gonzalez wins AL MVP

Sports History

2010 German Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel wins the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina Circuit to claim his first F1 World Drivers Championship by 4 points from Fernando Alonso; Red Bull's first Constructors title

  • 2014 American harness racing trainer/driver Dave Palone sets the world record for wins when he drive Missy Tap Tina to the winner's circle for his 16,754th career victory
  • 2018 New York Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom wins NL Cy Young Award; his 10 wins fewest ever by a Cy Young winner in a non-strike-shortened season; MLB-leading 1.70 ERA; 29 consecutive start streak longest in MLB history