Indianapolis 500 in History (Part 2)

Motor Races: Le Mans

Events in Sport

  • 2014-05-25 Indianapolis 500: American driver Ryan Hunter-Reay holds off runner-up Hélio Castroneves of Brazil by a margin of 0.0600 seconds, the second-closest finish in race history
  • 2015-05-24 Indianapolis 500: 2000 champion Juan Pablo Montoya of Columbia sets record for most years between two victories in the race - fifteen years
  • 2016-05-29 Indianapolis 500: American driver Alexander Rossi of Andretti Herta Autosport runs out of fuel on the final lap but coasts across line for the victory in 100th running of the race
  • 2017-05-28 Indianapolis 500: Japanese ex-Formula 1 driver Takuma Sato of Andretti Autosport becomes first Asian to win the race; Brazilian Hélio Castroneves finishes just 0.2011 seconds behind
  • 2018-05-27 Indianapolis 500: Will Power becomes first Australian race winner; Roger Penske's 17th Indy 500 victory as a car owner; average speed: 166.935 mph
  • 2019-05-26 Indianapolis 500: 2016 IndyCar Series champion Simon Pagenaud of France finishes just two-tenths of a second ahead of Alexander Rossi for Team Penske's record-extending 18th victory in the event
  • 2020-08-23 Indianapolis 500: 2017 champion Takuma Sato of Japan wins his 2nd title under yellow caution flag after a crash with 3 laps remaining
  • 2021-05-30 Indianapolis 500: Brazilian Hélio Castroneves wins his record 4th title in 2:37:19.3846; new record for fastest running of the race with average speed 190.690 mph
  • 2022-05-29 Indianapolis 500: Marcus Ericsson driving for Chip Ganassi Racing is second wining Swedish-born driver; holds off furious charge from Pato O'Ward with 2 laps to go to win his first Indy 500

Birthdays in Sport

Weddings in Sport

Deaths in Sport