On This Day

War of the Triple Alliance

War: American Civil War - American Indian Wars - American Revolutionary War - Balkan Wars - Boer Wars - Cold War - English Civil War - Falklands War - Greek War of Independence - Gulf War - Korean War - Kosovo War - New Zealand Wars - Spanish Civil War - Terrorism - Vietnam War - War of the Pacific - Wars of the Roses - More »

War of the Triple Alliance: The War of the Triple Alliance, also known as The Paraguayan War and the Great War in Paraguay was a South American war fought from 1864-70, between Paraguay and the Triple Alliance of Argentina, the Empire of Brazil and Uruguay.

It was the deadliest and bloodiest inter-state war in Latin American history, devastating Paraguay, which suffered catastrophic losses in population. Almost 70% of its adult male population died and it was forced to cede territory to Argentina and Brazil.

Paraguay fought almost to the last man. According to some estimates, it's pre-war population of 525,000 was reduced to 221,000, of which only 28,000 were men.

Historical Events

Historic Event

1864-10-12 War of the Triple Alliance begins with Brazilian troops under the command of Gen. João Propício Mena Barreto invading Uruguay

Battle of Cerro Corá

1870-03-01 War of the Triple Alliance finally ends with the Battle of Cerro Corá and the death of Paraguayan Dictator Francisco Solano López after over 5 years of bloodshed between Paraguay and Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay